Ras Naoimh Finian 2014: Race Details

We are proud to announce that Kinnegad Credit Union are the Women’s Race Sponsor:

Credit Union
If you are looking for a loan for a new bike – then pop into Kinnegad and District Credit Union, sponsors of this weekend’s Women’s race, where our staff will be delighted to help you get your wish

Photos from the race – courtesy of Michelle Kavanagh…


Here are all the results from the 2014 Ras Naomh Finian below.  We would like to say a big thank you to all our sponsors, and of course to everyone who helped out today with marshaling to make the race a great success!
Special thanks to Fore Motorcycle Club for providing the motorbike marshals and paramedics, and to the Ambulance crew, and to all the crew in Rochfortbridge Cycling for their help also.

A total of no less than 240 riders took to the start today, in four separate races.
The weather was dry, but strong cross winds made it hard for the cyclists, and of course kept the Commissaires busy, especially on the outward leg where the southerly winds played havoc with the larger peletons!

A1/ A2 Race report
A break of three riders went clear in the first 10k – These were Javan Nulty, Antony Walsh and Robin Kelly.  They pushed on with Javan Nulty taking the KOH prime at the top of Ginnybawn hill.
A chase group of about 10 riders formed, but could not bridge across on the way back from Killbeggan.
The three breakaway’s rode hard all the way home, with Nulty taking the sprint to claim the win.

Ras Winner

A3 Race:
Four Riders went clear after just 5k, and stretched their lead to two minutes at the turn point in Kilbeggan.  A chase group went clear, but could not bridge across to the four leaders.
The winner, Ciaran Kelly, had about 15 seconds to spare at the line.

A4 Race:
Gareth Dargle went clear from the gun, and had 1.40min gap at the turn.
The hill on the way back split the bunch with the top 30 pulling away from the rest of the field.
Three riders broke clear at Rocherfordbridge but could not make it across to Dargle who held on for a comfortable win.

Women’s Race:
2014 was the first time we held a separate race for Women – fitting, given today was international Women’s day!  The race was run over 44k .
The impressive Ann Dalton attacked with 15k to go, and road strongly to pull out a gap of about 20 seconds on the rest of the field, and kept the lead all the way home to take a great win.
Michelle O’Halloran took the bunch sprint from Susie Mitchell in 3rd.


1st –   Javan Nulty DID Dunboyne
2nd –  Robin Kelly Aqua Blue
3rd –  Antony Walsh UCD
4th –  Sean McKenna UCD
5th –  Joe Fenlon Aqua Blue
6th –  Elijus Clivils Top Team

KOH Javan Nulty

UnPlaced A/2’s:
1st –   Niall Quinlan Epic MTB
2nd –  Colm Bracken Kilcullen / Murphy Surveys
3rd –   John Dorris Sorrento

1st –  Ciaran Kelly Bikeworks
2nd – Daire Feeley Doamon Dyamos
3rd –  Sean Bracken Usher Irc
4th –  Phil O’Flaherty McNally Swords
5th –  Ken Tobin McNally Swords
6th –  John O’Shea Carlow

KOH Phil O’Flaherty McNally Swords

1st  Clubman Jacob Baldwin

Unplaced Junior
Fintian Ryan Nicolas Roche performance team

Unplaced Vet
Lloyd Scott DID Dunboyne

1st  – Gareth Dargle Donnellys Stamullen
2nd – Owen Murphy U/att
3rd –  Keith Holligan U/att
4th –  Eamon Watters Drogheda Wheelers
5th –  Declan McKenna Emyvale
6th –  Steven Vauls Waterford Racing

KOH Darren Maher

1st  – Ann Dalton DID Ladies
2nd – Michelle O’Halloran Lakeside Wheelers
3rd –  Susie Mitchelle Sundrive
4th –  Roisin Kennedy Adamstown
5th –  Marie Gorman Navan
6th – Sandra Fitzgearld Garda

We will have photos from today’s races here shortly.

———————— pre-race information ————————-

Please note the NEW START LOCATION is at Mother Hubbards, which is between Enfield and Clonard, on the old N4.
This year we will also have a separate race for Women – see important details below regarding the start for the Women’s race.

After the races, we will have food in Mother Hubbards where the prize presentations will take place.

Sign on is in the Log Cabin, and will be open from 09:30am.

Ras Poster

Race route for A1/2/3/4 races:
Start is From Mother Hubbards, and the race heads out the old Galway Road (R148 through Clonard, and on to Kinnegad), and on then through Milltownpass, Rochfortbridge, Tyrellspass, and will turn around in Kilbeggan and come back in the same route.  Finish line is the same as previous years – just before Clonard Village.

We will keep the same format as the 2013 & 2012 events.  These proved to be very successful, so we will once again have 3 separate races this year, as well as an extra, separate, race for Women…

First race
11am sharp (small handicap for A2 group)

Second race
11:05 start

Third Race
11:08 start

Women’s Race
11:08 start*

Women’s race is a reduced distance: 44km in total.
Route is from Mother Hubbards, rolling out *immediately behind the A4 race, but turning around in Rochfortbridge.  Finish line is the same as for the men’s races – just before Clonard Village.

We would request all riders taking part in the Women’s race to assemble behind the A4 bunch, ready to roll out just behind them.

Prizes are as follows:

First 6 overall in each separate race.
A1 Race: 1st 3 unplaced Cat-2 riders.
A3 Race: 1 unplaced Junior & Vet

and….here are the details of the race route:

Create Maps or search from 80 million at MapMyRide
Print Friendly, PDF & Email